Vexilla Regis: Maynooth Laymen’s Annual; 1951

Click above to read in full (pdf) – begins at page 33

Posted on January 16, 2011, in Bishops' Pastorals, Cardinal John D'Alton, CATHOLIC PAMPHLETS, Irish Church-State Relations, Irish History, Jansenism, Maynooth Laymen's Annual, Maynooth Seminary. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. The ads alone – all that before p.33 – could provide enough data for a decent dissertation.

    Where do you source this? Did you move into a house with a large cellar full of boxes?

  2. Eoin I’m glad you think that because I had been planning on just skipping them and start scanning at page 33. Good to know the extra scanning wasn’t wasted. But I also liked the old ads – they really do set it in context and give you a taste of Ireland in the 1950s.

    I’ve been collecting material like this for a while. Unfortunately I can’t be specific about where I got it but I was very lucky. I hope it’s a useful resource.

  1. Pingback: Jansenism and Irish Catholicism | Lux Occulta

  2. Pingback: Leading Maynooth Theologian Decries Disintegration of the Irish Church « Lux Occulta

  3. Pingback: The Scandal of Maynooth (1973) « Lux Occulta

Leave a comment